Batman by Sardine for Ikimuk FB
Na na na na na na na na na na na na … Batman!

To those of you who don’t read Arabic here is a translation of the above illustration.

Word Bubble:

Where are you?

Batman:

My city calls …

Waynak?/Where Are You? is my submission to the Ikimuk, a wonderful t-shirt company based in Beirut, Lebanon, competition. This month’s theme was Arabian – or Arabized – superheroes.

In order for this to get printed it has to reach a certain number of orders … hmm … around 25. What am I saying?

I am saying that is available for order and if it is to be printed you have to order it before May 22nd. You can order it by pressing on this magical blue sentence http://ikimuk.com/design/78/Waynak-?

Why Batman?

At first I wanted to do a Geisha riding a toy Godzilla, don’t get any dirty thoughts now, but than I remembered I was supposed to draw a superhero theme.

The design that you are now looking at is the one I ended up drawing. If it weren’t for The Long Halloween comic book that was written by Jeph Loeb and illustrated by Tim Sale I would have never dared to draw Batman in my own style.

I originally wanted to have the Bat sign to say “Waynak Ya *Khara?” or “Waynak Ya *KharaMan?” but I wasn’t sure I was allowed to.

Anyway …

I think I said enough!

Don’t forget to check out Ikimuk’s wicked designs that were made by some really awesome Arab illustrators and comic artists. Thank you Ikimuk for accepting it :-})

Lately, and part of my work as art director at Mlabbas, I have been focusing a lot on designing t-shirts and illustration. I’ve been submitting to Threadless and Design by Humans, where I now have a submission up for voting.

Yep, I am talking about Nachos of the Living Dead that I blogged about earlier. The voting process for this one is about the likes, comments and shares on Twitter and Facebook.

http://www.designbyhumans.com/vote/detail/225735

So why am I going through all this trouble? Well, for starters my agent got held up in a Mexican prison. He was trying to smuggle some historic luchador, wrestling masks, back to Jordan when he got detained. I think he got five years in a maximum security prison.

It is time to burn the afternoon candle from both ends!

P.S: Will post the Geisha riding on Godzilla soon.

And yeah, don’t forget to “order” my t-shirt as Facebook LIKES won’t get it printed ;-})

*Shit

*ShitMan

Leave a Reply

