1

I know …

Why haven’t I been writing more blog posts? I apologize for that. I’ve been busy illustrating. I will always be a writer. At the moment I am focusing more on my life as an illustrator and a comic artist.

So, meet Graffbot Vol. 012 …

It was really hard not to talk or post anything about this.

2

I guess I wanted to know if I was going to be able to pull off a free-hand spray paint street art piece of this size that was not a stencil or a wheat-paste. By the way I did this a few months ago.

This has been in the planning for a week part of a Street Art/Graffiti project with British Street Artist Stik:http://www.stik.org.uk/ and with the British Council.

3

Thank you Wesam a.k.a Wise One for involving me in this project that allowed me to meet amazing young Jordanian graffiti artists like Suhaib, Musalam, Adi, Sen and Mohannad.

4
My job as a writer and an illustrator is to help instill imagination in the minds of youth. This is why I choose to draw a robot that sprayed the word “bekh” and that translates to “spray” on the wall.

I cannot say if doing this piece achieved that but I sure enjoyed hearing the kids of Jabal Al Qal3a gasp in astonishment at this mechanical behemoth. I am also not sure if it still there.

Another thank you goes out to Mike ‘Khalid’ Rahmeh and Nahla Tabba from An Urban Reflection for getting me the permission that allowed me to spray paint this wall.

P.S: Will try to publish more meaningful posts that does not reflect the mad recluse I am turning into through my illustrations and short stories.

I just remembered; on a different note I’ve been writing stories in Arabic. If you are interested in reading some pieces please visit my Thoughts From Within a Sardine Can FB page.

Comments
  1. Soooooooooooooooooo, u`ve been (posting) other where!😀

    Good 4 u + us mike🙂
    ——–
    I hope, really, to see a bad cop-bad-cop piece by u🙂

    • mikevderderian says:

      Evening Haitham :-})

      Sorry for the late late reply. Been a while. Trying to be more consistent. Hope all is well …

      Trying to cut back on social media to no avail ;-])

      Been drawing more than I’ve been writing …

Leave a Reply

