_DSC0073

Last night, December 15, 2012, was the final day of the Karama Film Festival. I did not attend any of the film screenings. I stopped attending cultural activities around Amman a year and a half ago. I guess not wanting to see anyone is one reason; the other reason is work related: I’d rather work on a t-shirt design, an illustration for a comic book character or write a piece of literature.

Some people are just a waste of time and sincere emotions!

So this is what I have been doing lately: I would go to an exhibition hall prior to opening and enjoy going through the exhibited works piece by piece as I did with the exhibition Karama, Where To? that was held part of the festival’s week long activities.

If I was still writing for The Star Weekly I wouldn’t have dared write about this impressive exhibition as I am part of it. However, since this is a blog post I am afraid to say that I forgot my journalistic objectivity in the pocket of my other coat.

What I find most fascinating is how many bloggers haven’t written or mentioned the holding of this exhibition. I guess writing about the amazing works of young Arab artists, graphic designers and comic artists is not as self-gratifying as writing a piece about boycotting Israel and having it spread through the very same self absorbed social grapevine.

This exhibition, that held the works of artists like  Amer Amin / Amer Shomali / Ammar Abo Bakr / Amr Fahed / Abd Alraheem Arjan / Asma Ghanem / Diala Brisly / Fares Cachoux / Hilda Hiary / Jawad Hamdan / Khaled Jarrar / Majd Abdelhamid / Maya Terro / Marwan Shahin / Mohammed Abu Elnaga / Mohammed Abu Afefa / Mohammed Joha / Mohammad Omran / Monther Jawabreh / Mostafa Jarrad / Nidaa Badwan / Rima Al Mozayen / Shadi Al Zaqzouq / Tarzan & Arab / Wisam Al Jaziri/ Yara Al Najim and myself, was about voicing our visual thoughts about Arab Spring and where we think the Middle East is heading.

For me personally I see this period more of an Arab winter and summer is still far ahead. The call for this exhibition was a way of standing up to bullshit through our work, be it written, drawn or performed!

This is what many of the participating artists did; they called bullshit by its name and I am quite proud to have my works, the four pieces that I contributed, Nippon Vol. 1 & Vol. 2, Gaza Dolls and Propaganda, hanging next to the works of such amazing artists.

This was the message that I discussed with Rashid Abdelhamid, Alhoush founder, and Jasmine Melvin-Koushki, a curator at Alhoush, who co-organized this exhibition with Miss Sawsan Darwazeh (The Karama Film Festival).

Anyway I hope you enjoy the snippets that I took of the exhibited works that you can find in full by clicking on Alhoush’s Karama, Where To? Facebook folder.

Please note: Each piece is followed by the name of its artist.

_DSC0071

_DSC0072

_DSC0136

By Mohammad Omran

_DSC0076

_DSC0078

By Marwan Shahin

_DSC0080

_DSC0081

By Amer K Amin

_DSC0085

_DSC0138

By Amer Shomali

_DSC0090

By Jawad Hamdan

_DSC0091

_DSC0093

_DSC0092

By Maya Terro

_DSC0095

_DSC0096

By Shadi Al Zaqzouq

_DSC0100

By Mohammad Abu Afefa

_DSC0102

By Yara Al Nejem

_DSC0104

_DSC0106

By Diala Brisly

_DSC0108

By Majed Abdelhamid

_DSC0110

By Mohammed Abu Elnaga

_DSC0112

By Amro Fahed

_DSC0114

By Ammer Abo Bakr

_DSC0116

By Monther Jawabreh

_DSC0119

By Wissam Al Jazairy

_DSC0122

By Rima Al Mozayen

_DSC0123

By Nida Badwan

_DSC0125

By Tarazan and Arab

_DSC0128

_DSC0134

By Moahmmad Haja

_DSC0130

By Yara Al Najem

_DSC0132

By Asma Ghanem

_DSC0059

_DSC0060

_DSC0063

On a final note thank you Al Housh and The Karama Film Festival for using my illustration for the exhibition poster ;-})

_DSC0057
All photographs were taken by Mike V. Derderian save for the in which he is shown and that one was taken by Nesrin Mousa Derderian :-})

Comments
  1. Naaaaaaaaaah, u shall always (wear) that coat (too)🙂

    Awesome stuff! I [think] my fav is the 1 by By Moahmmad Haja.

    • mikevderderian says:

      Your right! Once a gumshoe always a gumshoe ;-}) Man you should have seen them in person :-}) Hope you are well Haitham :-})

Leave a Reply

