What this Homo sapien Has Been Up To! (Part I)

Posted: March 11, 2012 in beTwixt & beTween
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So …

Where have I been?

I usually hate this type of inane blogging! The blog post drafts that I have been working on are not to my satisfaction yet. You will know when they are.

Haven’t slept much in the past few days. Haven’t slept a lot during the past two months. I have a lot on my mind. I quit my full time job bringing into full circle my status as a Nomad Gun for Hire. This wasn’t the case when I started out in 2003. I worked for The Star Weekly for eight years until I realized I was sort of underpaid but not under appreciated in any way.

I was a hardboiled gumshoe who loved his job! Always after the kill – I am talking about journalistic scoops – but my dream of becoming a comic artist and an illustrator caught up with me. Add that to a not so impressive salary, rent, an amazing family to maintain and you’d realize I had to move on.

This is as far as I will go in mentioning my previous full time job at IKBIS that I quit a few weeks ago. I am not jobless though. A thank you goes out to the force above!

I still masquerade as The Mikeman, the in-your-face-no-bull radio presenter, on 96.3 FM. In fact I’ve come up with two more radio personalities who sort of co-host my Morning Madness shows on Monday, Thursday and Saturdays between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m.

Playing good music since 2003! That’s how I refer to my 8 year career as a radio presenter and professional news reader.

This is the online link in case you don’t live in Amman, Jordan http://www.jrtv.joinstream.net/eradio.aspx

I am also writing the Cutting Celluloid page for On Campus magazine & Go Home (Q & As with local filmmakers) & Go Out (what is happening in Amman in terms of art + a mini classic film review) pages for Go Magazine. Working with the great people behind these publications allows me to stay in touch with the journalist within.

Now the best piece of news is: My Other Half three weeks ago gave birth to our second child, Andre-V, who is now the brother of my first Lovely Mouse two and a half year old Amie.

So far things are good …

Anyway, enough about me and let me share with you some of the things that I have been working on as an aspiring illustrator, a cartoonist and a designer under the nom de plume: SARDINE.

P.S: You can find my other illustration portfolios here behance!

I created the following posters using Adobe Photoshop CS3! Why? Practice in a way helps you become better at what you are trying to do. Started working on them last night. It must have been all the fish sandwiches that I ate last night! I think Mickey’s poster sucks!

I seriously need to stop writing here. Hope you like this dose of SARDINE Minimal Toon Pop Culture and my original illustrations!

Doraemon

Totoro

The above are posters for my Minimal Toon collection that I want to produce part of a limited edition series. Once I decide on a point of sale, if they are worthy of sale, you will be the first to know. Will post part II of this blog post, in which I will share other posters and pieces I’ve been working on, in a few hours!

Until then have a pleasant warm day :-})

SARDINE a.k.a Mike V. Derderian

Oops! Before I forget: Thank you for subscribing to my posts!

Comments
  1. ذكرتني بأيام الرغيف العجيب
    و قط البكتيريا🙂

    تكي تكي تووووو
    😀

  2. Sarkasmos says:

    Madman! Congratulations on the birth of little Andre-V 🙂

    love your blog,your illustrations,and your morning madness (morning saver) .You are a Homosapien driven by his own mighty monsters🙂

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts,your art,and your madness !

    P.S.Any news about Prometheus?

    • mikevderderian says:

      I apologize for the delay in my response Sarkasmos :-})

      Thank you regarding Andre-V :-}) Children are truly the best gift in this life. Also thank you for your kinder than kinder words about my work. I hope I improve the level of everything I am doing with the new job that I started a week ago.

      As for my madness I am glad you find it inspiring. Enough about myself. Hope you are well?

  3. Sarkasmos says:

    Congrats on your new job(i hope your new boss is better than your old one!) JK .

    As per me am fine,sarcasm is in the air …All good🙂

    • mikevderderian says:

      Thanks Sarkasmos :-}) He is a decent creative guy. I realized the worst thing you can do as a creative person is to work with people who don’t believe much in your creativity. Never again :-})

      I am glad to hear you are fine …

Leave a Reply

