Icarus

Posted: August 2, 2011 in La Poem

Written on February 3, 2009

Warm wax dripped over his broad shoulders. It didn’t burn his chapped skin as much as it gave his naked body a tingling sensation. His hands clutched the wooden handles the same way an infant holds the hands of its mother.

His mother; he can barely remember her face.

He was getting closer. Touching the warm and holy visage was what he wanted to do from the moment he jumped over that cliff.

“I can make it,” he thought.

His father’s distant voice echoed in his weary mind, but the weight of his body that was pulling him down distracted him from grasping their meaning.

“A life without hope is like lying in a tomb without bothering to fight the gravedigger, who is hurling dirt over your shrouded face. I escaped my shroud. Here I am when all was lost, and will be no sooner I caress the noble features of this burning orb,” he said to himself.

Muscles painfully jolted and bones cracked but he kept on going, leaving behind a trail of feathers. The cogs attached to an iron plate on his back gave out a monotonous sound as they turned and turned. He was in much pain yet he never stopped. The leather straps that curved through his flesh, were now bound to the skin by layers of dried blood clots, through which warm red drops sifted like dew formulating over a perspiring leaf—the constant motion kept his wounds open and he was bleeding to death.

For a moment the white fleece of a cloud enshrouded his tired and bleeding frame, cooling his burning veins. Sweat trickling down from his wet hair reached the contours of furrowed forehead. Turning his head he saw his father again.

“He won’t reach me in time. Farewell sweet man. You who have carried me all my life,” the young man whispered in the direction of his bearded father, whose voice was hushed by the roaring wind.

“Zephyr is with me so worry not father. We’ll meet in the hereafter but first I have to cross the Dark Beyond. I can no longer see. Gentle and warm Helios let thy worm embrace guide me to your bosom,” he prayed with his eyes closed.

The leather straps attached to his wings were cracking and the rope that encircled both his arms reached the bone and was turning loose. Heavy tears streamed across his red cheeks. Blinded by the burning brightness the man, who was now guided by his ears, refused to stop, even as his blood streamed like a river heading to its watery deathbed to the sea-unchanging.

“Life never sounded so better,” was the final thought rushing through his head that went headlong into the icy water.

Broken feathers floated towards the moving surface. A voice from within the clouds bellowed, “Icarus…Icarus.”

Comments
  1. Haitham says:

    Impressive! If Icarus survived the crash or was given a second life, he would have not been able to describe his feelings as he plummeted toward the ground as vividly and concisely as you did =)

    • mikevderderian says:

      Thank yo Haitham for taking the time to read it and comment with such a kind comment :-})

      I am Mike and I am addicted to words. Getting into the head of characters is what I like to do most when I can.

      It would be great if you can read my Arabic writings. I have something called خواطر من داخل علبة سردين which is more experimental.

      I hope you always enjoy my writings.

      All the best …

      Mike

  2. Sarkasmos says:

    Oh that means Prometheus is on the way! Exceptional ! i stand by Talus though…

    • mikevderderian says:

      It is a actually a hybrid between Prometheus and Icarus :-}) I will try my best to finish it. I hope you enjoyed reading Icarus?

  3. Sarkasmos says:

    If you wrote on both characters then i am eager to read Prometheus! and perhaps i could ask for an illustration of the fire bringer 🙂

    Based on Icarus,sei eccezionale!

    • mikevderderian says:

      In that case I have to work harder and make sure I finish it sooner than later ;-}) As for personal illustration you’ve got it …

Leave a Reply

