Cinerama: Pirates of the Caribbean: the Curse of the Black Pearl

Posted: September 11, 2009 in Cinerama

Pirates of the Caribbean: the Curse of the Black Pearl

By Mike Derderian

To dream is to live and to live is to dream. Ask yourself what is a world without a dream that would take you to the realms of a parallel dimension where one’s spirit can float freely without the boundaries of the physical world.

This dimension is found under the very same blanket that shelters your tiresome body each and every night as your drowsy head falls unto the pillow of divine slumber. I believe that Robert Louis Stevenson can add in more with verses from his poem “ My Bed is a Boat.”

At night I go on board and say / Good-night to all my friends in shore; / I shut my eyes and sail away / And see and hear no more.

A few nights ago, I saw the 2003 non-boring pirate adventure “Pirates of the Caribbean” at the theatre. After two and half hours of excellent day dreaming at the cinema, one regretfully has to return home back to reality.

In my case and with the help of my magical bed my journey wasn’t over yet. After surrendering to sleep, I found myself wearing a rather big hat ornamented with scarlet feathers and dressed in big boots. No, I wasn’t the puss in boots my dear reader. I was a fearless pirate with no missing body parts, no hook for a hand or a wooden log for a leg. Instead I had a black patch on my eyes strictly for theatrical reasons. During this nocturnal adventure, with the help of my faithful crew I was boarding a Spanish vessel trying to loot its cargo.

Silver and gold not to mention sparkling rubies, diamonds and emeralds, were all part of a treasure that will help me attain the love of a fair lass called Portia, whom right before bestowing a gentle kiss on my cheek I unfortunately woke up.

After this extended overture, I take you back to our film directed by Gore Verbinski and starring Geoffrey Rush, Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, Kiera Knightly and Jonathan Pryce.

This isn’t your typical Treasure Island film; it is more of a ghost story and romantic adventure filled with remarkable fencing scenes and special effects all in one not forgetting the brilliant performance of Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow, the weirdesst captian of them all.

Long uncouth hair, gold front teeth, mascara around the eyes and a dirty vagabond appearance in addition to Depp’s portrayal of Sparrow as a person who has a languid character and a silly walk made him simply the best and most loveable character of this film.

The intro takes us onboard a ship carrying twelve-year-old Elisabeth and her father Governor Weatherby (Pryce) both traveling under the command of the naval officer, Captain Norrington (Davenport).

During their voyage they stumble on the burning wreckage of ship, not knowing whether this was an accident or the work of pirates they spot a survivor, a boy stranded on a piece of floating wood. Sorry but it is from here that I choose to fade out the rest so I wouldn’t ruin your evening at the cinema.

After few years that little girl matured into a beautiful noble woman, Elisabeth played by Kiera Knightley, who with her solemn beauty and strong performance will stun you throughout the film, believe me she will.

She is now the center of affection for Norrington, a Captain to become Admiral, and Will Turner (Bloom), a manufacturer of excellent swords and he knows how to use them too. Who will win her heart the Blacksmith or the naval officer?

Packed with excellent witty mind refreshing dialogues this is a film that will make you burst into laughter and enjoy the well-choreographed fencing incident between Turner and Captain Sparrow.

One of the memorable scenes is when Sparrow and Turner use a boat as a submarine by flipping it upside down and walk right into the sea. This sequence was taken from the 1952 film entitled “the Crimson Pirate” starring Burt Lancaster.

You might wonder why I haven’t said a word about the bad guys. Well I did this because those pirates are not your ordinary villains they in fact have special gift or lets say a curse that makes them hard to beat.

Those fierce bloodthirsty men are lead by Captain Barbossa (Rush), who despite of his evil appearance knows how to treat a damsel especially if she asks for “Parlez.” Parlez is a French word found in the pirate code of ethics, allowing a prisoner to be spared and taken to the captain for negotiation. Imagine the irony, even pirates had moral rules back then.

In one funny scene we see Turner trying to confess his love for Elisabeth, however, his hesitation comes from his being a simple blacksmith who would not dare love a noble woman. After the moment slips away and Elisabeth has left in comes Captain Sparrow and tells Will in a satirical and funny manner, “If you are still waiting for the right moment that was it.”

With Stevenson’s concluding stanzas I leave thee to the dreams that you will see after watching this film.

All night across the dark we steer: / but when the day returns at last / safe in my room beside the pier, / I find my vessel fast.

Leave a Reply

